Tantalus - the online coin registry

Go Back   Tantalus Online Coin Registry > Main > Open Mike Room
 

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-02-2009, 01:32 PM
OctavianCoins OctavianCoins is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Angry auctions

im very annoyed i used the sniping tool to snipe my dream coin on ebay and it didnt even put a bid in for me! i would of easily of won it. infact the manage auctions page actually says that i did win it!? so i went to pay and found out that a bid for myself was never even entered. what went wrong? to be fair i have used it before with success so i presume this is a minor glitch in a otherwise good tool but even so.
  #2  
Old 05-03-2009, 10:45 PM
mrichter mrichter is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 170
Default

I have had this happen few times also. One problem is the decimal place. Apparently not all non-US auctions accept. A number of the times this happened to me I was bidding something like 43.86 but the auction would only accept bids in even dollars or .50 increments.

Matt
  #3  
Old 05-10-2009, 11:31 PM
mrichter mrichter is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 170
Default

This just happened to me again today. Ebay auction #250417790522 on 5/10/09. My bid was not placed and Tantalus shows me having won. My high bid was $14.50 higher than the winning bid shown on eBay.
  #4  
Old 05-15-2009, 11:57 AM
OctavianCoins OctavianCoins is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Default

and again to me! missed out on a bargain allectus, even though it says i have won.
  #5  
Old 05-15-2009, 03:27 PM
rasiel rasiel is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 276
Default

So far the code is checking out. At our end the bids are being submitted to eBay. Of course this just means that the problem is trickier to solve. I would guess that it has to do with the timing. The default of five seconds before end of auction might be cutting it too close. If tantalus can't reach eBay fast enough the server doesn't have enough time to login and submit. My suggestion would be to experiment with a ten second delay and, of course, consider an old fashioned "manual snipe" on those must-win auctions.

I hope to have more info in the coming days. Ras.
  #6  
Old 05-15-2009, 03:30 PM
rasiel rasiel is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 276
Default

By the way, I encourage everyone using the snipe tool to report on both bids going thru and those that aren't. It helps to figure out what might be wrong.
  #7  
Old 05-15-2009, 04:22 PM
mrichter mrichter is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 170
Default

I just tried bidding without the snipe tool on a non-US ebay auction that might shed some light on this problem. The auction is this one:

http://cgi.ebay.de/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?...m=150343872594

Initially, I could not get eBay to accept my bid. Then I noticed I was bidding 18.88 but the auction said the next acceptable bid was 5,50. I entered the bid as 18,88 and it went through. I then went to www.eBay.com and made sure I was logged in to eBay US. Iw as able to place a slightly higher bid using the decimal place instead of the comma to seperate dollars and sense.

I don't know how this difference affect Tantalus' sniping tool but I think it does as at least some of the auctions I had problems with were on non-US eBay listings.

Regards,

Matt
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:10 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Dirty Old Coins, LLC